Department Newsletter

Spring 2017 Newsletter

From the Department Head

Our commitment....

The last few months have been tumultuous, to say the least.  Whatever your political leanings, we are all riding a post-election roller coaster that will likely continue for a long time to come.  We, in the academy, walk a fine line between freedom of speech and the inappropriate use of our position to further a political agenda.  But, when it comes to actions that threaten the fundamental principles of a university, we cannot remain silent. The recent limitation imposed on immigration has immediate and serious implications for many of our faculty, students, and colleagues. Equally important, the executive order is contrary to the academic ideals of embracing diversity and the free and open exchange of ideas that have no national boundaries.
The Psychology community has responded by reaffirming our commitment to the core values written in our 2015 Strategic Plan – collaboration and collegiality, treating one another with respect, embracing diversity, striving for excellence, promoting ethical standards, and honoring our commitments.  We will continue to build a community of inclusive excellence so that every person – faculty, staff, and student -- knows that they are valued, supported, and has a voice, regardless of race, color, gender, orientation, religion, or nationality.  
Our Diversity Committee, chaired by Dr. John Ruiz, is working hard to ensure that Psychology is a leading advocate for diversity in everything we do – education, training, research, and the daily life of our department.  I encourage you to follow our efforts on our Diversity webpage   

We are ALL Wildcats.

Lee Ryan

In the News and Achievements


Kristina Stepanovic, Psychology Undergrad and recipient of the Fall 2016 College of Science Outstanding Senior Award

Jessica Hanna-Andrews, Assistant Professor of Psychology and Cognitive Science

Judith Becker, Professor of Psychology, Clinical/Policy and Law will be retiring from the department in May 2017